Himanta Biswa Sarma to be sworn in as Assam CM; will take oath on May 10

Himanta Biswa Sarma to be sworn in as Assam CM; will take oath on May 10

BJP senior leader and Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sarma will be sworn in as chief minister of Assam at the Srimanta Sankardeva Kalakshetra on Monday (May 10).

Himanta Biswa Sarma, who was elected leader of both the BJP and NDA Legislature Party earlier in the day, had called on the Governor at Raj Bhawan and submitted a list of elected legislators owing allegiance to the NDA.

Assam Governor Jagdish Mukhi invited him to be sworn in after Sarma met him Sunday.

Himanta Biswa Sarma will be administered the oath of office by the Governor Jagdish Mukhi on Monday (May 10) at the Srimanta Sankardeva Kalakshetra at 12 noon though the names or the number of ministers to be sworn in with him is yet to be announced.

The senior BJP leader, later in a tweet thanking the Prime Minister, said he ‘feels enormously blessed for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s faith in me. This is the biggest day in my life, and I so fondly cherish your generous affection. I assure you we shall leave no stone unturned to carry forward your vision of taking Assam and North East to greater heights’.

In another tweet, thanking the people of Assam, he said, ‘with fragrance of Assam in my heart and love of my wonderful people in my veins, I offer my deepest gratitude to you all. I would not have been what I am had it not been for your pious faith in me. On this day, I vow to work with each one of you with greater passion’.

Of the 126 assembly seats in Assam, the ruling alliance has secured 75 seats with BJP winning 60 while its alliance partners AGP got nine seats and UPPL six.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Most Popular

To Top